People Australia

  • searches all National Centre of Biography websites
  • searches all National Centre of Biography websites
  • searches all National Centre of Biography websites

Browse Lists:

Cultural Advice

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website contains names, images, and voices of deceased persons.

In addition, some articles contain terms or views that were acceptable within mainstream Australian culture in the period in which they were written, but may no longer be considered appropriate.

These articles do not necessarily reflect the views of The Australian National University.

Older articles are being reviewed with a view to bringing them into line with contemporary values but the original text will remain available for historical context.

Oldfield, Thomas (c. 1763–?)

Thomas Oldfield (c.1763- ), a woollen draper/dresser, and his sister Isabella, were found guilty on 20 July 1786 at Manchester of stealing a piece of lawn and two other pieces of cloth with a total value of 8 pence. Sentenced to 7 years transportation, the pair were sent to the Dunkirk hulk on 1 November 1786, where they remained until they embarked for New South Wales on the Friendship in March 1787.

Thomas Oldfield was a member of the nightwatch from 1789. He left the colony for Bengal on the Boddington in October 1793.

* information from Mollie Gillen, The Founders of Australia: A Biographical Dictionary of the First Fleet (1989), p 268

Citation details

'Oldfield, Thomas (c. 1763–?)', People Australia, National Centre of Biography, Australian National University, https://peopleaustralia.anu.edu.au/biography/oldfield-thomas-31919/text39373, accessed 18 September 2021.

© Copyright People Australia, 2012

Life Summary [details]

Birth

c. 1763
Skipton, Yorkshire, England

Cultural Heritage
Passenger Ship
Occupation
Key Events
Key Places
Social Issues
Convict Record

Crime: theft
Sentence: 7 years
Court: Manchester
Trial Date: 20 July 1786
(1786)

Pre-transportation

Occupation: cloth dresser

Post-transportation

Left the colony: Yes